The senior leadership team at NSETC are highly skilled and experienced leaders in the education sector.

Dr Darran George


Darran started his career as a Royal Marine Commando before moving into education as a Lecturer in Sport at Coleg Gwent in South Wales. Following this, he taught undergraduate students as a Visiting Lecturer with the University of Wales, Newport before taking up a Lecturer in Public Services post at Weston College in 2006. Darran has held various management roles in education including Lecturer in Charge of Public Services, Curriculum Manager in Sports and Public Services, Deputy Head of Faculty Service Sectors, Head of Faculty Service Sectors, Executive Director and Deputy Chief Executive IFT. Darran has led a large FE Faculty consisting of five key divisions: 1) Health, Social Care and Counselling, 2) Early Years and Education, 3) Sports, 4) Public Services, and 5) Hospitality, Hotel and Event Management. Darran is a governor of a local secondary school. Darran has previously studied for a First Degree in Sports Sciences, a Masters Degree in Active Recreation and Health, and a PhD in Education.

Senior Leadership Team (SLT)

Dr Darran George Principal
Miss Joanne Philpott Vice Principal
Teacher of DT and Engineering
Dr James Sully Assistant Vice Principal
Deputy Head of Learning Support
Teacher of Maths
Mr James Whitbread Interim Assistant Vice Principal
Head of Business, IT and Humanities
Mrs Sarah Smith Interim Assistant Vice Principal
Head of Maths
Miss Alice Bushell School Services and Office Manager
Mrs Jane Hicks Head of Learning Support

Head of Department

Mr Jamie Biddle Head of Sport, PE and Enrichment
Lead Tutor Key Stage 4
Mr Mark Gabey Head of DT, Engineering and Food Technology
Miss Rebecca Snell BTEC Coordinator
Teacher of Health and Social Care

Teaching Staff

Mr Kevin Lillistone Computing and IT
Mrs Ruth Davies Teacher of Business
Mr Ashley Amos English
Miss Kirsty Fudge Geography
Mr Athanasios Adamos Maths
Miss Charlotte Godman Science
Mr Phillip Clark Science
Mrs Sam Keir Science
Mrs Sarah Leaney Science
Mr Shaun O'Connell Science

Pastoral Support

Mrs Samantha Hiney Attendance and Pastoral Support Officer
Mrs Sally Bebb Learning Support Assistant
Mr Christian Morgan Teaching Assistant

Business Support

Mrs Emma Toomer Clerical Assistant
Miss Abbie Lee Admin Apprentice
Mr Luke Green Cover Supervisor
Mr Phil Simmons Data Manager
Mrs Helen Radford Science Technician
Mrs Emma Brittan Customer Services Assistant

In the linked document you can find a breakdown of the roles of the Senior Leadership Team.
Leadership Structure - January 2017